Award Categories

There are a number of categories where awards to upstanders will be provided on. These include:

Young Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to a young person (between the ages 13 and 25) who has stood up against hate crime and prejudice at their University/School or within their local community. Their courage and tenacity is to be celebrated and they are to be great role models for young people around the country.

Media Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to a journalist, editor or social commentator who has actively stood up against prejudice, intolerance and bigotry. Given that we have seen media commentary pieces against people with disabilities, as well as with trans-communities, this award, it is hoped, will inspire others to be active in the media world against lazy stereotypes which dehumanize whole sections of communities.

Community Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to a community activist who has stood up for, campaigned, fundraised or advocated for victims of hate incidents or hate crimes.

Parliamentary Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to a Member of the House of Lords, House of Commons, councillor or Assembly Member who has made a significant difference to the field of hate crime work or who has successfully championed a case or issue around hate crimes.

Local Authority Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to a local authority who has implemented or undertaken extensive work on tackling hate, intolerance and bigotry. It may also be provided to a leading councillor who has set the way for the local authority in terms of strategic direction setting in order to tackle hate crimes in their local area.

Law Enforcement Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to a force, police and crime commissioner or officer who has being pro-actively re-enforcing the need for members of the public to report in hate crimes and incidents and has shown significant commitment and dedication in a case or cases that have involved investigating hate crime/s.

Social Research Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to an individual or company whom has had a positive effect in tackling and raising significant awareness of Hate crimes in the UK.

Lifetime Achievement Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to an Individual who has created a long-term goal battling against discrimination and hate crimes and succeeded.

Business Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to an organisation, which has made a significant impact on countering intolerance, hate and bigotry.

Sports Upstander Award 2019
This will be awarded to a sportsperson who has has a substantial effect on countering intolerance, hate and bigotry.

CPS Award – Supporting Victims, Reporting Hate Crime Upstander Award
This category is sponsored by the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS). The CPS is responsible for prosecuting criminal cases investigated by the police in England and Wales. The CPS reviews each hate crime case referred by the police and where there is supporting evidence, the CPS will prosecute as a hate crime and apply to the courts for an increased sentence.

Unsure which category to select? Email us at with details and we’ll be happy to help.


Terms and Conditions

You may submit multiple awards nominations of up to 1 person/organisation per award. This can be the same of different person/organisation.

When submitting multiple nominations, a separate nomination application must be completed for each one. Please ensure you demonstrate how the person or organisation meet the criteria for the award in question on each application, do not reference to other applications.

When filling out your nomination, you will remain partial and factual, whereby you are expressing opinion or recollection, you make this clear it is an opinion or recollection.

There is no cost to submit a nomination.

No responsibility is accepted by The No2H8 Crime Awards for entries lost, delayed, misdirected, incomplete or which cannot be entered for any technical or other reason. Proof of delivery of entry is not proof of receipt

Under no circumstances is it acceptable to vote for yourself or your company.

Nominations will be kept anonymous; but not considered confidential so you may share if you have nominated someone to your own discretion.

No information you provide in your nomination will be shared or used – other than for purposes related to the awards ceremony.

Applications that do not complete all of the relevant sections will not be submitted for assessment. Furthermore, applications made for individuals or organisations who have a history of extremism or divisiveness will not be put forward for assessment.

The No2H8 Awards reserve the right to carry out due diligence work by use of open source information, on those being nominated, whether they be individuals or organisations. Nominated individuals or organisations which may bring the work of the No2H8 Awards into potential disrepute, will not be progressed for assessment.

The values of the No2H8 Awards are based on supporting pluralism, tolerance and diversity and individuals or organisations who go against these principles, will be removed from the process. The final decision rests with the No2H8 Awards.

The No2H8 Crime Awards is being held on 7th November 2019 in London, UK. The No2H8 Crime awards may alter an event details as required, such as but not limited to date, times and location.

Applicants who make nominations will not be informed of the outcome of their application, apart from the list of nominees which will be published on the web-site. A final list of the winners for each award will be published within 24 hours of the Awards evening in November 2019.

Once our project team has assessed your nomination, your nominee will be informed if they have been shortlisted only. Nominations that have not been shortlisted for a category will not be notified.

The No2H8 Awards also reserve the right to reject applications which do not emanate from the United Kingdom. Applicants and their nominees should be based within the United Kingdom when the application is made.”

Applications will all go through two separate judging panels, first a Community panel made up of hate crime agencies and a second final judging panel which will review nominees. The latter will be made up of individuals who have some profile or standing within communities.

Their decisions are final and one successful winner will be approved for each category, however the No2H8 Crime Awards reserve the right to pull any nomination at any time if given cause to do so, even if it has been shortlisted r selected as a winner.

The No2H8 Crime Awards shall not be liable for any failure to comply with its obligations where the failure is caused by something outside its reasonable control. Such circumstances shall include, but not be limited to, weather conditions, fire, flood, hurricane, strike, industrial dispute, war, hostilities, political unrest, riots, civil commotion, inevitable accidents, supervening legislation or any other circumstances amounting to force majeure.

We hope that you may support the evening through promoting it via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or by highlighting to others, that they can nominate Upstanders in their local communities for an award.